Who Cares?

Posted on Updated on


No one else was around

When our eyes first met

The wind had shut down

The parking lot was wet.

#

He was young, and tall

Disheveled and gaunt,

As he lounged at the wall

Of the darkened restaurant.

#

I locked all the doors

Started the car,

And  reached to  the  floor

For that iron bar .

#

He came quick and asked

To use my cell phone;

But I drove away  fast

And left him alone.

#

But the cold wind cursed me

And called up more rain.

The dark night shamed me,

And I turned back again.

#

What else could I do

To undo a coward’s deed

Done to someone who

Was in some sort of need.

#

But he wasn’t  there

That other man’s son,

So to show that I care

I undid the undone,

#

Sat ashamed and alone,

Took the clip from my gun,

Pulled out my  cell phone,

And punched up  911.

##################################

Leave a Reply

