When the Bough Breaks

Posted on Updated on

Burned out houses, bombed out cities,

poisoned children in a line,

God is angry, He has said

“Vengeance shall be Mine”.

#

A hundred thousand random dead?

Two million random refugees you say?

A paltry tax for them to pay

to no more fear both night and day.

#

With warnings and prohibitions,

God’s commandments I made clear,

yet no one seemed to listen,

they scarcely seemed to hear.

#

He’s all-loving, all-forgiving,

ever old and ever new,

but lest you burn forever,

do as We say, not as I do.

#

We will kill with fire and brimstone,

who’er you are, what’er you do,

so all of you will fear Us

Whether Arab, Copt, or Jew.

#

He’s the one and only God,

Syria His Almighty State,

I His presidential messenger;

don’t rock this cradle of hate,

#

Ere I poison, maim, or kill

my subjects, old and new,

’til all shall learn to fear

both what We say and what I do.

Leave a comment