TWO B2B PROVIDERS

Posted on

I’M HERE, WAITING

IN A SMALL STILL ROOM,

COLD AS A FISH TANK,

IN A THIN PAPER GOWN

WITH NO BACKSIDE;

I AWAIT MY PROVIDER,

ON SHINY WHITE PAPER

FRESH FROM THE ROLL

THAT SLIDES ON VINYL

BUT CLINGS TO MY BUTT.

HEEDLESS MOVING AIR

STIRS THE SULLEN SILENCE;

I FINGER THE SAME FORMS,

FILL IN THE SAME BOXES,

AND WONDER: AGAIN?

A WHITE COAT ENTERS;

ONE I’VE SEEN BEFORE

THAT’S NEVER SEEN ME,

IT QUICKLY GLANCES 

AT MY FAKE DRUG SCREEN.

MY PROVIDER KEYBOARDS;

SPEAKING SILENTLY 

AT THE PIXELATED ME,

WHOSE IMAGE THERE

IS CODING AND TEMPLATE;

ASKING  OLD QUESTIONS ALOUD

WHILE SILENTLY RECORDING

 THE OLD ANSWERS,

AND NON-ANSWERS

‘HOW, ONE TO TEN’, HE ASKS:

‘ IS YOUR PAIN?

‘ARE YOU SLEEPING?

‘THEN, ‘YOU NEED REFILLS?

I SAY ‘8 AND 8; AND, I DO.

THE VISIT IS OVER.

MY B2B PARTNER LEAVES,

ADDRESSING THE DOOR:

‘THAT’S GREAT!

I FILLED YOUR PRESCRIPTIONS;

SEE YOU IN TWO MONTHS.

I RESENT THIS ‘SHOW’

BY TWO  B2B PROVIDERS;

BUT IT’S ALL GOOD, MAN.

I PICK UP MY PILLS,

TO BAG THEM FOR SALE.

2 thoughts on “TWO B2B PROVIDERS

    sanberdooboy said:
    January 5, 2016 at 13:44

    i identify with the speaker in the poem. it’s very effective with strong images. my favorite touch is how it refers to the provider as just a coat, denying him the humanity which he has denied himself.

      lufboro responded:
      January 5, 2016 at 13:49

      U R FAST! I JUST EDITED AND REPOSTED A FEW MINUTES AGO. THANKS FOR THE ASTUTE COMMENT!

Leave a Reply

